The Nordic Council Literature Prize.


The Nordic Council Literature prize awards ceremony will be held this year on the 29th of October in Stockholm, Sweden.

This is where the success of art and culture of the Nordic regions is celebrated, based on the accomplishments that each nominee has gained in their respective genre.


The Nordic Council Literature Award Ceremony

I spoke with Louise Hagemann – who is responsible for culture at the communication department of the Nordic Council and the Nordic Council of Ministers – about the upcoming event.

“I am looking very much forward to The Nordic Council Award Ceremony which takes place in Stadshuset in Stockholm.
All the nominees for the Nordic Council Literature Prize, the Children and Young People’s Literature Prize, the Film Prize, the Music Prize and the Nature and Environment Prize will be present in the famous ‘Blue Hall’ where the Nobel banquet also takes place.
Last year’s winners will present the prize to this year’s winners and the popular Swedish/Finnish entertainer Mark Levengood will host the show.
Later, all the 5 winners will be interviewed by SVT in a direct television show and the programme will be broadcast throughout all the Nordic countries.
This is the second time this year that we have gathered all the nominees at an event where they do not know beforehand whether they will win the new “Nordlys” statuette and 350.000 DKK or not.
There will also be seminars and screenings of the nominated films at Kulturhuset in Stockholm on October 28th and 29th which are open to the public.”

Louise went on to tell me about how important the Nordic council literary prize award has been in showing other countries just what the Nordic region has to offer.

“The Nordic Council Literature prize has been awarded since 1962 for a work of imaginative literature written in one of the Nordic languages. This can be a novel, a play, a collection of poetry, short stories or essays that meets high literary and artistic standards. The intention of the prize is also to increase interest in the literature of neighbour countries as well in Nordic cultural fellowship.”

With an influx of interest surrounding Nordic writers in the Scandinavian countries and beyond, these awards have never been as relevant as now.

The ceremony has gained prestige over the years, attracting a high calibre of nominees and winners, from Per Olov Equinist and Lars Saabye Christensen to the most recent winner, Kim Leine from Denmark. Kim Leine won with his literature triumph, ‘Profeterne i Evighedsfjorden’ which is about a priest called Morten Falck from Denmark who finds himself visiting Greenland at the end of the 1700’s. This book unravels untold colonisation, emotions, feelings, consequences and a catalyst in history that has shaped many events thereafter.

 Kim Leine



There are 13 nominees from Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway, Greenland, Faroe Islands, Iceland and Åland.

The nominees are as follows:


Claus Beck Nielsen, Mine møder med De Danske Forfattere (My Encounters with the Danish Authors). Novel, Gyldendal, 2013

Ida Jessen, Postkort til Annie. Short stories, Gyldendal, 2013


Henrrikka Tavi, Toivo (Hope). Poetry collection, Teos, 2011

Kjell Westo, Hägring 38 (Mirage 38). Novel, Schildts & Söderströms, 2013

Kjell Westo


Eiríkur Örn Norðdahl, Illska. Novel, Mál og menning, 2012

Auður Jónsdóttir, Ósjálfrátt (Secretaries to the Spirits). Novel, Mál og menning, 2012

Auður Jónsdóttir


Tomas Espedal, Bergeners. Prose, Gyldendal, 2013

Mona Høvring, Camillas lange netter. Novel, Oktober, 2013

Mona Hovring


Eva Runefelt, Minnesburen. Lyric poetry, Albert Bonniers Förlag, 2013

Andrzej Tichý, Kairos. Novel, Albert Bonniers Förlag, 2013

Andrzej Tichy


The Faroe Islands  

Tóroddur Poulsen, Fjalir. Poetry collection, Forlagið í Støplum, 2013


Juaaka Lyberth, Naleqqusseruttortut. Novel, Forlaget Milik, 2012

The Åland Islands
Johanna Boholm, Bygdebok. Prose narration, Ellips publishing house, 2013

Stockholm City Hall

The grand events of the evening, which are to be housed in The City Hall of Stockholm, could only be brought to justice in this magnificent building.

After twelve years of construction, the City Hall in Stockholm was completed in 1923. The well-known Blue Hall – used for the banquet after the annual Nobel Prize award ceremony – is in fact without blue decorations but kept the name after the architect’s original design. The effort put into one of the busiest tourist sites in Stockholm is indicative of the pride that Stockholm places on its history, success and ever-prominent place within the Nordic countries.



Norden is the Nordic Council who is the official inter-parliamentary body in the Nordic Region. The Nordic Council was formed in 1952 and has 87 elected members from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, as well as from the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.

With Nordic literature flooding Europe and America right now there are many success stories putting their writers in the lists of the elite. I can see that the Nordic Councils literature prize awards are going to have increased interest and anticipation in the upcoming years and any fan of culture should follow attentively.

NordicstyleMag will be attending this event and taking a keen interest in the Nordic talent that will be represented at this special evening.

Photo Credits:, Nattensende,, Forfatternesklimaaksjon, & Tobias Lindman